How to be Joyful in Dying Part 2

mother_teresa-by-sanisloI said to you, my friend that it is through the DIvine Mercy of Jesus Christ that I have found joy. You asked, understandably, how can this be?

Following the advice of Mother Theresa of Calcutta, India, I began to serve others and lost my sorrows and concerns about myself in them. Their pains were linked to my own. Their frustrations and fears I could understand, as mine were so fresh in my mind.  I wanted to relieve their fears and my own, the pain, too.  It became clear, that giving mercy to others in whatever measure I am able to give is the best relief of my own suffering. It began very small indeed and I must admit has not grown to monumental degree as I am still hovering near the border of the valley of death. Yet, it has become an all encompassing passion in my mind and in my heart. I live to serve others in whatever capacity God grants me to have at any given moment. There are ups and downs, still onsets of new pains and sufferings, yet when I give mercy to others, my suffering is made lighter.

Do you see, my friend, what I had heard about so many times, yet never understood. We could give our troubles and pains over to Jesus.  He too had suffered and died a most horrible death. He understands all of us and He with His heart full of love, wants to relieve us all of our pains and sufferings of this world.  I understand and live in joyful hope. The passage from gospel according to Matthew 11, ”

29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

 

Leave a Reply

